|
|
Callme.com - Notices
April 28, 2004
eBay Scam
Bruce Horn
It is pretty easy to determine whether a link in the email is legitimate.
For example, in John Fuhrmann's email the following attachment was given:
Dear eBay Community Member,
The bid that you entered for the item (284328704)
has been cancelled. You can view the reason provided for the cancellation by
selecting the (bid history) link from the individual item page.
Regards,
eBay
Note that the link is to the domain "scgi-secure-ebay.com". It is easy to
think that such a url is part of eBay; for example, if it were
"scgi.secure.ebay.com" that would be true.
If you go into the Terminal and type
whois scgi-secure-ebay.com
you get the following (abbreviated):
Domain Name.......... scgi-secure-ebay.com
Creation Date........ 2004-03-18
Registration Date.... 2004-03-18
Expiry Date.......... 2005-03-18
Organisation Name.... Brian Marchand
Organisation Address. 1200 Warburton Ave
Organisation Address. #24
Organisation Address. Yonkers
Organisation Address. 10701
Organisation Address. NY
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES
I highly doubt that "Brian Marchand," who created the domain on March 18
2004, is anyone at eBay :-)
Return to Notices
Home |
Who Are We? |
Web Hosting |
Web Design
Customer Terms |
Contact Us |
Notices |
Customer Service
Callme.com Webmail |
Secure Callme Email
Free World Wide E-Mail Reader
|
|
|